top of page
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Padilla

Confidence is the Antidote

Discussing fashion and style can be tricky as there are many opinions, emotions, and different experiences. No matter what one may feel, fashion and style is everywhere and its influence will continue on. Although Goshen and its surrounding areas are not known to be fashion capitals, locals are very intune with what they wear, their style and how it affects them. 







A group of locals, made up of Millennials and Generation Z, discuss their relationship with fashion and style, some really influenced and inspired by what they see online, others who feel more lax and dress based on mood, and some who feel major angst when choosing an outfit. Regardless, fashion and style is very alive and prominent in their life. Unfortunately, there is no representation of previous generations but there is no denying their mark on what fashion looks like today and how it is strongly mimicked. 


Although there is a larger focus on women’s fashion, men are starting to break into the industry and care about what they wear and how they present themselves. Arturo Pizana, works in line production and resides in Goshen,  his style as a big part of him but can also be a downfall at times. “I have been constantly thinking about fashion, I've been wanting to change my style. So I have been watching multiple TikTok and YouTube videos. I love fashion because of the inspiration, I hate it because people can be very judgemental.” 


On top of possibly being judged,  there are times when his inspiration doesn’t match how he feels about himself, “It does affect my mood, usually because of my weight and it does get to the point where I don't want to go out and I end up canceling my plans.” 


Karen Ramos, a beauty advisor in Goshen, understands Pizana’s struggle on getting dressed on a day where confidence is low, Ramos shares, “It does get to a point where I don’t want to go out anymore or literally cry. My body fluctuates daily and one day I feel more bloated and it really does affect my mood.” 


Another factor is social media and unlike Pizana who feels inspired, Ramos feels pressure and rather dress for her body even though she feels like she should be doing otherwise, “The Jean trend right now doesn’t suit my body type and social media makes me feel like i'm not “in-style” because I choose to wear jeans that fit my body type.” 


Confidence seemed to be a common trend among this group of locals, it doesn’t seem to be the clothing that determines style and fashion, it’s confidence. There is a difference between wearing and styling, a concept that can make for a great experience when getting dressed or one that leads to tears or canceling plans as Pizana and Ramos expressed. 


Alejandra Rousculp, a customer service supervisor, in Elkhart, loves the advancement in plus size clothing but there’s still improvements to be made. She is a mother so she admits there’s a stigma as to how she needs to dress and act. She sees a lot of outfit ideas that influence her but does not feel inspired. She bases her style on mood, which at times can cause gloom but for the most part she enjoys getting ready and discovering other looks that may suit her. 


“My style and fashion absolutely reflects my personality. I'm very colorful so I'm drawn to louder colors and floral patterns.” 


Even though Rousculp enjoys color and patterns the actual fit can be hard to find. “I HATE that most plus size clothing is boxy. it's harder to style and doesn't accentuate any curves. Being a Latina, I am proud of my curves, I still want to show them off a little bit, not hide them.”


As mood and self-esteem continues to be a common trend and the secret to a good fashion day. Paul Beltran, who is in sales and a South Bend local, leads with basics and confidence. “It [fashion] is part of my daily routine, and always makes me feel confident. I like the creativity and versatility that one can have with the most simple pieces. Fashion to me is a way of expression, it allows me to be in a space where I can confidently express myself.”


Ariana Martinez, the youngest of the group and college student at IUSB makes it clear that comfort is important, trying something that is different is always a good idea and fashion is easy when following her advice. 


“One styling tip about fashion that I want to share with others is that no matter what you wear, wear it confidently. If you openly feel like you hate your outfit, change into a positive mindset and I promise you others will see that you carry yourself confidently.”

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page